UEC Road European Championships Team Update And Preview

Posted in: ROAD RACING, Women's Cycling
By Gavin Quinn, Communications Officer, Cycling ireland
Sep 19, 2023 - 7:29:18 PM

The international road racing season reaches its boiling point this week as Ireland look forward to an exciting few days of action at the UEC Road European Championships.

Following a successful UCI Cycling World Championships and Tour de l’Avenir in recent weeks, Ireland close off their road season in Drenthe, Netherlands, beginning on Wednesday, September 20th until Sunday, September 24th.

With 23 riders set to represent Ireland at the championships, there’s plenty for supporters to look forward to as green jerseys take to the start line in all Junior, U23 and Elite Road Races across a jam-packed week.

Kicking off with Individual Time Trials across all categories, Ireland are also represented in Junior Men and Women, U23 Men and Elite Men and Women races against the clock on Wednesday, September 20th.

The championships also represent the final opportunity for nations to secure points for 2024 Paris Olympics qualification for both the men and women’s road race and time trial.

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of the 2023 UEC Road European Championships:

Team Update

Earlier this month, Ireland named a team of 26 riders to take part in the championships, including junior, U23 and elite riders in all men and women's road races.

However, due to a number of factors, there have been a some late changes to the team to represent Ireland at the championships in Drenthe, Netherlands.

Sam Bennett suffered from an illness following his participation in the Tour of Britain, after consultation with his team's medical staff, the sprinter unfortunately had to withdraw from the elite men's road race.

Ryan Mullen, originally scheduled to take part in both the elite men's time trial and road race, has withdrawn from the road race due to personal circumstances. His participation in the championships will be in the time trial.

Ryan Mullen said:

"Unfortunately, due to personal circumstances arising, I have had to make the difficult decision to withdraw from the European Championships Road Race. I will only race the Time Trial this week. I would like to thank Cycling Ireland for giving me the opportunity to race and for their understanding of my situation. Its really encouraging to see so many young and upcoming riders here as part of the team. The European Championships are a fantastic event which has provided me with great opportunities to perform over the years and it's exciting to see a strong bunch of Irish riders that have the chance to show their best in the green jersey."

Due to the late nature of Bennett and Mullen's withdrawal from the elite men's road race, the riders could not be replaced. Rory Townsend and Dillon Corkery will represent Ireland in Sunday's elite men's road race.

Megan Armitage has been replaced by Fiona Mangan for Saturday's elite women's road race. Cycling Ireland has respected Megan’s decision to withdraw from the championships following her recent concussion incurred prior to AG Tour de la Semois.

Archie Ryan has withdrawn from the U23 men's road race. The Jumbo Visma Development Team rider has been offered the opportunity to ride the Tour de Luxembourg (2.Pro) with the Team Jumbo Visma world tour team. The stage race begins on Wednesday, September 20th. Ryan will not be replaced due to the late nature of the withdrawal.

Finally, Erin Creighton has withdrawn from the U23 women's road race due to injuries sustained following a crash at the 2023 Rás na mBan. No reserve riders were nominated for the U23 women's road race, therefore Creighton will not be replaced.

How to watch

Supporters in Ireland can follow the action from the 2023 UEC Road European Championships with live coverage on Eurosport and GCN+.

There will be live coverage of the elite men and women’s time trials and road races as well as highlights programmes.

Keep up to date with all the updates for Irish riders on our website and social media channels during the championships.


Wednesday, 20th

Junior Women’s Individual Time Trial
8.00 – 9.10 (Irish Time)
Lucy Benezet Minns
Aine Doherty
Julia Murphy

Junior Men’s Individual Time Trial
9.25 – 10.45
Adam Rafferty
Liam O’Brien
Patrick Casey

U23 Men’s Individual Time Trial
12.05 – 13.10
Darren Rafferty
Dean Harvey

Elite Women’s Individual Time Trial
13.30 – 14.50
Kelly Murphy

Elite Men’s Individual Time Trial
15.15 – 16.45
Ryan Mullen

Friday, 22nd

U23 Men’s Road Race

After an encouraging showing at the World Championships and a successful Tour de l'Avenir, Ireland's U23 men's team look to finish the season on a high in the road race on Friday. The U23 men’s road race starts in Hoogeveen and will travel 64.6km before entering the 13.7km Col du VAM circuit for five laps. In total the riders will race over 136.5km.

Darren Rafferty
Dean Harvey
Odhran Doogan
Jamie Meehan
Kevin McCambridge

Start Time
8.30 – 11.45 Irish Time

U23 Women’s Road Race
Lara Gilliespie along with the O’Brien sisters, Caoimhe and Aoife will compete in the U23 women’s road race on Friday. Their race will start in Coevorden with an opening 36.1km before entering the finishing circuit for five laps.

Lara Gillespie
Caoimhe O'Brien
Aoife O'Brien

Start Time
13.30 – 16.10 Irish Time

Saturday 23rd

Junior Men’s Road Race

A bolstered squad of six junior men will take on the road race on Saturday as Seth Dunwoody and Liam O'Brien once again take to the line. But this time they'll have multiple other teammates as Adam Rafferty, Cal Tutty, Oisin Ferrity and Patrick Casey also feature. The junior races will takes place solely on the Col du VAM circuit with the junior men set to take on eight laps of the 13.7km circuit totalling 111km.

Seth Dunwoody
Adam Rafferty
Liam O'Brien
Patrick Casey
Cal Tutty
Oisin Ferrity

Start Time
8.00 – 10.45 Irish Time

Elite Women Road Race
Alice Sharpe will be joined by Fiona Mangan who comes in to replace Megan Armitage in the elite women’s road race on Saturday. The pair will take on 131.3km which starts in Meppel for an opening 59.3km before entering the finishing circuit to complete five laps.

Alice Sharpe
Fiona Mangan

Start Time
12.45 – 16.03 Irish Time

Sunday, 24th

Junior Women’s Road Race

Lucy Benezet Minns and Aine Doherty will once again represent Ireland in the junior women's category while Spanish-based rider Julia Murphy makes her first appearance for Ireland at an international level. The junior races will take place solely on the Col du VAM circuit with the junior women set to take on five laps of the 13.7km circuit totalling 68.2km.

Lucy Benezet Minns
Aine Doherty
Julia Murphy

Start Time
8.00 – 10.34 Irish Time

Elite Men Road Race
Rory Townsend and Dillon Corkery will represent Ireland in the elite men’s road race on Sunday. The race will start from Assen when the riders will complete 115km before reaching the finishing circuit where they will complete six laps of the Col du VAM circuit.

Rory Townsend
Dillon Corkery

Start Time
11.15 – 15.58 Irish Time


Live Timing

Live timing from all events is available link here...