Cyclo-cross National Series Round Three Results

Posted in: Cyclo Cross
By GAVIN QUINN, Cycling Ireland, Press Officer
Oct 23, 2023 - 9:53:20 AM

The 2023/24 Cyclo-cross National Series rolled on over the weekend as Westport Covey Wheelers played host to the third round in Westport, Co. Mayo.

Over 180 riders took part in an enjoyable day's racing in the winter sun as some of Ireland's best Cyclo-cross riders put on a show under the shadow of Croagh Patrick.

Once again playing host to a round of the Cyclo-cross National Series, Westport Covey Wheelers made a number of improvements to an already exciting course this year - including a double pit area and use of fields to make a more compact course.

National champion Dean Harvey was head and shoulders above the rest in the senior race, finishing almost a minute ahead of Jamie Meehan in second place while Tadhg Killeen rounded out the podium.

Greta Lawless and Conor Murphy were among the stars of the day as they picked up wins in their respective categories. The junior riders recently returned from an international UCI Cyclo-cross training camp in Switzerland, including an open race win for Murphy against some promising international riders and a 4th place (3rd placed junior rider) for Lawless.

Lawless took an exceptional victory in the women's race, with the 16 year-old finishing ahead of Caoimhe May in second and fellow junior rider Aliyah Rafferty in third. Murphy also dominated the junior race, winning by a margin of almost two minutes on second placed David Gaffney.

In the Masters categories, Ronan O'Flynn took a strong win in the M40 race, Jason Henry was triumphant in a well contested M50 race while Johnny McCabe once again took victory in the M60 race by some margin.

Curtin McKee took a narrow victory over Caleb McGreevy in a thrilling U16 boys race while in the U16 girls race, Mia Geary took victory by over two minutes on the rest of the field.

In the U14 races, James Cunningham and Rory McCool did battle, with Cunningham holding off a late McCool surge to take the win while Katie Turner was strongest in the girls race.

After two high octane weekends of Cyclo-cross action, the series returns on November 12th in Drombane, Co. Tipperary.


More information on the 2023/24 Cyclo-cross National Series can be found - click here

Full results are available by download.