2024 Cross-country National Series Round Two Results

Posted in: Cross Country, Off-Road Videos
By Peter Purfield
May 19, 2024 - 8:16:33 PM

Robin Seymour at the finish of the 2024 NPS Round 2 after winning the elite men's race
The second round of the 2024 Cross-country National Series took place today at the Leadmines (Carrickgollogan Forest) in Co. Dublin. The event was hosted by Epic MTB in glorious sunshine, with a record entry the circuit produced very exciting racing in numerous categories from Under 8's right up to Senior 1 elite riders.

The main event of the day the Senior 1 elite men's race, three riders (Robin Seymour and his team mate Daniel Brickenden both from Team WORC and David Montgomery of Spellman-Dublin Port) went clear of the field on the first lap and and had a super battle right up to the last few hundred metres of the course, where the super experienced rider Roblin Seymour at 52 years of age pulled off an excellent win beating Ireland's elite riders at half his age.

Full credit has to be given to the organising club, Epic MTB who did amazing work creating a great course and promoting a brilliant event on the day. Also helped with fantastic sunshine.

Cross-country Mountain Bike National Points Series (NPS) - Round 2
At the Leadmines, Co. Dublin, hosted by Epic MTB on Sunday 19 May 2024


Robin SEYMOUR won the Senior 1 event ahead of his team mate Daniel BRICKENDEN both from Team WORC and David MONTGOMERY of Spellman-Dublin Port finished third

Senior 1 open
1 Robin SEYMOUR Team WORC 1:31:44
2 Daniel BRICKENDEN Team WORC 1:31:50
3 David MONTGOMERY Spellman-Dublin Port 1:31:59
4 Gareth McKEE Cycleology Racing Team 1:36:25
5 Lee HARVEY Spellman-Dublin Port 1:37:43

In the Women's senior 1 event Caoimhe MAY of the Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club won on her own

Senior 1 women
1 Caoimhe MAY Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 1:10:00
2 Ciara MacMANUS Un-Attached Ulster 1:12:09
3 Faith ROBINSON Bray Wheelers 1:13:55
4 Joanna BULA Team WORC 18:46 1:15:50
5 Leah McCARTHY K Capital Rocky Mountain 1:21:12

Junior men
1 Ben O'KEEFFE Spellman-Dublin Port 1:12:42
2 Donagh O'CONNOR Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club 1:17:49

Senior 2 open
1 PJ HYNES Bellurgan Wheelers 1:21:11
2 Richard FELLE Team WORC 1:21:25
3 Ronan O'FLYNN Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 1:23:35
4 Sean FEENEY Team WORC 1:23:51
5 Gary DONALDSON Team Caldwell Cycles 1:24:08

Senior 3 open
1 Francis YATES DU Cycling Club 1:08:39
2 Colm O'BYRNE IVCA Cycling Club 1:13:21
3 Fergal POWER MTB Assoc of Dublin 1:14:09
4 Michael DARDIS EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles 1:14:55
5 William MCADAM Un-Attached Ulster 1:15:18

Senior 2 women
1 Erica GRANT EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles 1:02:38
2 Fiona LALLY EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles 1:03:25
3 Jean WILSON EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles 1:03:39
4 Catriona WHEELER Agivey Cycling Club 1:07:15
5 Doireann KILLEEN Kilcullen Cycling Club Murphy Geospacial 1:09:09

Senior 4 open
1 Alan DUNNE Team WORC 58:57
2 John MORAN EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles 59:25
3 William ROCK South-East Road Club 1:00:02
4 Darragh CONNOLLY Bray Wheelers 1:01:21
5 Barry TOLAND Un-Attached 1:02:18

Senior 3 women
1 Hazel MURPHY Yellow Furze Road Club 50:18
2 Sinead GREENAN Galway MTB 51:02
3 Emma CONVEY EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles 51:17
4 Sinead RYAN The ML Syndicate 53:36
5 Joelene BROWNING Dromore CC 57:34

Under 16 boys
1 Curtis MCKEE Spellman-Dublin Port 44:40
2 Caleb McGREEVY VC Glendale 47:20
3 James ARMSTRONG VC Glendale 49:43

Under 16 girls
1 Lacey AICKEN-JOHNSON North Down CC 1:01:55

Under 14 boys
1 Oscar MORAN EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles 26:50
2 Darragh MURPHY Rostrevor Mountain Bike Club 29:06
3 James GEARY Fermoy Cycling Club 30:20

Under 14 girls
1 Ava BAKER Breffni Wheelers 25:17
2 Ciara O'CONNOR Drogheda Wheelers 27:10

Under 12 boys
1 Benjamin CUNNINGHAM Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 15:10
2 Rían WATKINS Galway MTB 15:25
3 Darragh JACKSON IMBRC 15:51

Under 12 girls
1 Aoife CAMPBELL Square Wheels 16:09
2 Laoise CRINION IMBRC 4:00 17:19
3 Aoife KILLEEN Kilcullen Cycling Club Murphy Geospacial -1 lap

Under 10 boys
1 Lewis BELL Shelbourne/Orchard CC 9:58
2 Logan McAREAVEY Bellurgan Wheelers 11:13
3 David HAJEK Un-Attached Leinster 12:35

Under 10 girls
1 Emilia TYSZECKA MBCC 10:14
2 Sadhbh MORAN Un-Attached Leinster 11:32

Under 8 boys
1 Evan McTAVISH Western Lakes CC 5:17
2 Bobby CAMPBELL Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 5:19
3 Scottie LOCKHART Un-Attached Leinster 5:29

Well done to all the Under 6s in their race (4 boys and 3 girls)

Full Results can be downloaded at bottom of page.

2024 Cross-country National Series Round Two Preview
Details of event posted 16th May 2024

The second leg of the 2024 Cross-country National Series takes place on Sunday, 19th of May, hosted by Epic MTB at Leadmines (Carrickgollogan Forest), Co. Dublin.

Riders will be keen to get points on the board following the opening round of the series which took place in Ballinastoe, Co. Wicklow, hosted by Biking.ie earlier this month.

The day will begin with a fun race for Under 6’s, and will be followed by Under 8’s, 10’s and 12’s. After a prizegiving for the above categories, racing will commence for Under 14’s, Under 16’s, and all categories of Senior Women.

The final racing of the day will be for the Senior Open categories and Juniors.

The series will move north as Banbridge CC host the third leg on Sunday, 2nd of June.

Date & Location

Round Two of the 2024 Cross-country National Series takes place on Sunday, May 19th at Carrickgollogan Forest, Murphy’s Lane, Barnaslingan, Co. Dublin.


Download full results here...