Posted in: Ras Mumhan
By Press Release
Mar 28, 2018 - 9:20:06 PM

The KERRY GROUP RAS MUMHAN 4 Day International Cycle Race gets under way on the roads of Kerry and Limerick on Good Friday next March 30th and will finish on Easter Monday morning April 2nd.



The total race distance for the 4 days is 500km and includes 26 categorised climbs, however there is only one category one ascent, Coom an Easpaig on Sunday.

190 Elite riders representing 38 teams from Ireland, England, and Holland with Spanish, Italian & German riders included will add further International mix that will face the starter on Good Friday . A prize fund of over €7,000, this year sees one of the biggest fields ever to compete in the long history of this great Race.

Stage 1. Good Friday, March 30th 2.50pm Killorglin-Sliabh Luachra-Killorglin.

This is the eight consecutive year to go to the Sliabh Luachra region of East Kerry. The Ras will start in Killorglin taking the riders to Killarney, on to Kilcummin, Scartaglin, Castleisland, Currans, Ballyfinnane , Firies, Milltown and finishing in Killorglin around 5 pm – a total of 100km with three climbs.

Stage 2. Saturday March 31st . 11.00am North Kerry & West Limerick..

This will be a big day for cycling in North Kerry & West Limerick.. The race will leave Listowel at 11.00am.

The 130km route will have changes from last year. It will take the riders to Ballylongford, Tarbert, Glin, Athea,
Carrigkerry, Ardagh, Ballyhahill and back to Glin again, on to Athea & Carrigkerry again , before going on to a smaller loop that will take the race to Ballyhahill and Glin for the 3rd time before the Finish in Athea. There are 8 climbs on this stage with the hill out of Athea on 3 occasions including the finish around 2pm. This stage will afford spectators many occasions to see the race at its best.

Stage 3. Easter Sunday April 1st 11.30am. Waterville and Coom an Easpaigh Stage.

Valentia Island is on the menu again on this stage which has an 11.30 start in the South Kerry town of Waterville and the leading riders are expected at the finish back in Waterville at around 3 pm.. The 155km route includes the only Category 1 of the race, the Coom an Easpaigh climb introduced three years ago after a lapse of many years. The stage takes in Ballinskelligs , St Finians Bay,The Glen, Valentia Island, Cahirsiveen, Dromid , Portmagee on to the Category 1 Climb at Coom an Easpaigh , St Finians Bay again, before going back to Ballinskelligs and on to the finish in Waterville. There are 4 other Climbs along the way including two Category 2 ascents in what is regarded as one of the classic road stages of any race in these islands.

Stage 4. Easter Monday April 2nd. 10.00am. Beaufort and Killorglin Stage.

The final Stage will start at 10.00am , after 3 laps of the Killorglin–Beaufort-Killorglin circuit, the riders will go on to the Donal McKenna circuit for 9 laps which will take them up the famous hill in the town centre each time, a total distance of 115km. There is a Category 4 climb at the line each time, except the Finish lap , which will keep the King of the Mountain title up for grabs right to the end. . Expected finish time of 12.30.pm.

Formidable Line Up. The lineup of riders and teams include a very strong Ireland Development Team which includes 2015 winner Sean McKenna as well as two other experienced Internationals Conor McDunphy and Dermot Trulock. The Leinster team includes Mark Dowling , who won this race in 2014 . Sean Lacey leads the new Viner/Caremark/Pactimo team and he is another former winner taking the title in 2011, he underlined his form with a win in Carrick-on-Suir last week-end and will have stage winner Mattew Cigala in the same colours. Another Kerryman Cathal Moynihan leads the Tralee Manor West team this year, Cathal was 1st and 2nd on stages in the recent past.

Other top Irish riders in the race are Patrick Clarke who came close to the overall title a few years ago, Killarneys Richard Maes who had a mighty Ras last year, Limerick man Paul Kennedy who won stage 2 last year on home roads last year, multiple stage winner Paidi O Brien is also in the line up.. The evergreen department is led by 2001 overall winner Eugene Moriarty , who is competing in this race for the 21st time, surely a record for the Race , This year he will represent the Sliabh Luachra team , among the other evergreens are Aidan Crowley, Chris Coyle Anthony Doyle, and Vincent Gleeson

The foreign challenge is top class again this year.There are 5 teams from the England. Surrey League are regular visitors to the race, and they are joined this year by Rhino Velo Race Team, who were here last year.

New UK teams this year include Active Edge Racing team, Ribble Pro Cycling, and Zero BC. Who knows what they have to offer and after last years win by UK rider Dillon Byrne they will be out to take the title to Englang again.

West Fisia from Holland are back again this year, and Harry Sweering & Tim Groot have impressed here before.

The emphasis by the Race Organization on the Under 23 element of the event has attracted 32 riders in this category . There are 3 A+, 124 A1, 60 A2, and 13 A3 Riders in the field.

Cups: There are a number of Perpetual Cups to be presented over the 4 days. The overall race winner will receive the Donal McKenna Cup. On Saturday in Listowel / Athea the stage winner will get the Gene Moriarty Cup. Sundays winner in Waterville will receive the Eamonn Scully Cup and the final stage winner will get the Paddy O Callaghan Cup. Also the Under 23 winner overall will be presented with the John Doyle Cup and the best Kerry rider will get the Paul O Shea Cup.

This International Race will be on the roads of Kerry & Limerick for 4 days. The public are encouraged to come out and see this great spectacle as it passes by. However safety is paramount so you are asked to cooperate with the Gardai and Stewards at the event. Please keep dogs under control and expect traffic delays while the race is in your area.


KERRY GROUP are the main sponsors of the event.

Other Sponsors are:

Stage 1 Sliabh Luachra O Sullivan Cycles Killarney.

Stage 2 . North Kerry & West Limerick Gene Moriarty & Sons Electrical Contractors Listowel & Listowel Cycling Club.

Stage 3 Waterville & Coom an Easpaigh IRD Waterville ( Childrens Festival & Charlie Chaplin Comedy Festival).

Stage 4 Beaufort & Killorglin FEXCO.
Kerry County Council, Cycling Munster. Keanes Super Valu Killorglin.

Jerseys DMC Sport. King of the Hills Owen McCarthy Claims Specialists Killorglin,

Points Classification Killorglin Chamber Alliance

Under 23 Classification Cycling Munster.

Senior 2 & 3 Classification Rory McGillicuddy & Associates,.
Most Combatitive Rider Daily Award O Sullivan Cycles Killarney


Entries List and Event Website