Road Racing News and Pictures


Latest Headlines
Participant numbers increase to 200 at Cycling Events
Ben Healy claims 2020 National Championship Title
2020 National Time Trial Titles decided in Limerick
RTÉ to broadcast highlights of Cycling Ireland Road National Championships
Nicholas Roche 51st after 258-kilometre World Championship Road Race

ROAD RACING Last Updated: 5 Jul 2019 - 12:07:26 PM

By Press Release
30 Jun 2019,

Email this article
Bennett Takes Cycling Ireland National Road Race Championship Glory
Gallagher Wins Junior Women's Race in Derry/Londonderry

Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) took his maiden senior Irish National Road Race Championship as he saw off the challenge of Eddie Dunbar (Team Ineos) in the final dash to the line in Derry/Londonderry today.

Bennett’s show of power was the final act in three great days of road and time trial racing promoted by Foyle CC with Derry City and Strabane District Council.

The Men’s Senior Road Race was run off in dry weather over a reduced distance of seven laps of a challenging 21km circuit decided the destination of the final 2019 Irish National Road Race Championships medals.

After a number of early splits a four-rider move established itself up front with pre-event favourites Sam Bennett of Bora-Hansgrohe and Team Ineos’s Eddie Dunbar joined by locally based rider Mark Dowling, Darragh O'Mahony of CC Nogent-sur-Oise.

O’Mahony dropped back as Dowling hung in doggedly with World Tour pros Bennett and Dunbar and this trio dominated proceedings as chase groups formed and reformed behind.

The distance finally its toll on Dowling who dropped back on the final lap as national time trial champion Ryan Mullen (Trek Segafredo) made a bid to close the gap to the leaders.

There was no catching Bennett and Dunbar who were together hitting the final climb to the finish line on Shipquay Street where Bennett unleashed his world class sprint to power up the final drag. The Carrick-on-Suir man finally took a first senior road race title to add to the junior title he won in 2008.

For Dunbar it’s a repeat of the silver medal he won in Omagh in 2015 while for 2017 title winner Mullen, it was a successful conclusion to a busy week in the North West.

“Amazing,” Bennett said afterwards. “I don’t think it’s sunk in yet. I’m just really proud. The last two laps I was starting to get twitches of cramp and I tried to bluff it because Eddie was super strong and it felt like, in fairness to Eddie, that he was doing most of the pulling in the last two laps.

“He didn’t even give out to me. I owe him one. I owe him a big one. If he got away, I was happy for him to take it but I don’t know when this opportunity will come again.

Eddie’s so young, he’s got such an engine, I’m sure he’s going to get (a chance) in the future but I thought, for me, it’s now or never.”

Behind the leaders, Darragh O'Mahony of CC Nogent-sur-Oise recovered from a late tumble to take Under-23 honours from Team Wiggins’ Ben Healy and Marc Heaney of the Asfra Racing Team.

Earlier Maeve Gallagher emerged the stronger of the two riders who dominated the Women’s Junior national championship road race.
Gallagher distanced reigning champion Lara Gillespie of Scott Orwell Wheelers on the second of two ascents of Chapel Rd. with Caoimhe O’Brien of Lakeside Wheelers coming home to take third.

VIDEO - Bennett Claims Irish Title

Brief highlights of the 2019 Senior Men's Road Race Championships - Full highlights on Eurosport 6 June.


Championships Elite Men
Stage 1 FINAL Results
Derry Chapel Road - Derry 30 June 2019
Stage 1 Stage Result
Issued: 30 Jun 2019, 15:12
Organisation: Foyle CC Country: IRL
Class: na .
Winner's Time: 1h58'13" Deadline: 2h27'46" (25%)
Race Dist: 162.32 kms / 100.94 Miles Total Dist: 162.32 kms / 100.94 miles
Speed: 82.38 kph / 51.23 mph Average: 82.38 kph / 51.23 mph
Number of Starters: 88 Number of Finishers: 25
Did Not Start: 8 Did Not Finish: 63

U23 Rider Stage
1 O'Mahony,D NUG = 1h58'56"
2 Healy,B WIG @ 14"
3 Heaney,M ASF @ 03'40"
4 Trulock,D LUA @ 06'08"
5 Smith,L BIO @ 06'08"

Team General Classification
1 Evo Pro R 6h09'54"

General Classification
1 Bennett,Sam S Bora Hansgrohe 1h58'13"
2 Dunbar,Edward S Team Ineos 1h58'19" @06"
3 Mullen,Ryan S Trek Segafredo 1h58'42" @29"
4 Townsend,Rory S Canyon dhb p/b B 1h58'56" @43"
5 O'Mahony,Darragh YY CC Nugent-sur-Oi 1h58'56" = s/t
6 Dunne,Conor S Israel Cycling A 1h58'56" = s/t
7 Dowling,Mark S U/A Leinster 1h59'05" @52"
8 Healy,Ben YY WigginsLeCol 1h59'10" @57"
9 Montgomery,David S U/A Ulster 2h00'47" @02'34"
10 Teggart,Matthew S Evo Pro Racing 2h02'08" @03'55"
11 McLaughlin,Ronan S DanMorrisseyMcCa 2h02'19" @04'06"
12 Moore,Darnell S Team Caldwell Cy 2h02'30" @04'17"
13 McGlinchey,Christoph S Vitrus Pro Cycli 2h02'36" @04'23"
14 Heaney,Mark YY Asfra RT 2h02'36" = s/t
15 Watson,Lindsay S Powerhouse Sport 2h02'36" = s/t
16 Feeley,Daire S Evo Pro Racing 2h02'42" @04'29"
17 Wright,Jody S Phoenix CC 2h04'45" @06'32"
18 Trulock,Dermot YY Lucan CRC 2h05'04" @06'51"
19 Smith,Luke YY Team Bioracer-DH 2h05'04" = s/t
20 Curley,Liam YY Strata3 Velo Rev 2h05'04" = s/t
21 Kearney,Aaron YY Evo Pro Racing 2h05'04" = s/t
22 Lambert,Connor YY MysenlanBaboco D 2h05'04" = s/t
23 Curry,James YY DanMorrisseyMcCa 2h05'04" = s/t
24 Corkery,Dylan YY Team Bioracer-DH 2h05'20" @07'07"
25 Fyffe,Agnus S Team Caldwell Cy 2h05'20" = s/t


Championships Junior Women 2019
Stage 1 FINAL Results
Derry Chapel Road - Derry 30 June 2019
Stage 1 Stage Result
Issued: 30 Jun 2019, 10:51
Organisation: Foyle CC Country: IRL
Class: na .
Winner's Time: 1h07'15" Deadline: 1h24'03" (25%)
Race Dist: 40.58 kms / 25.23 Miles Total Dist: 40.58 kms / 25.23 miles
Speed: 36.21 kph / 22.51 mph Average: 36.21 kph / 22.51 mph
Number of Starters: 9 Number of Finishers: 6
Did Not Start: 2 Did Not Finish: 3

General Classification
1 Gallagher,Maeve L Castlebar CC 1h07'15"
2 Gillespie,Lara L Scott Orwell CC 1h10'12" @02'57"
3 O'Brien,Caoimhe L Lakeside Wheeler 1h14'42" @07'27"
4 Kelly,Ciara L TC Racing 1h14'42" = s/t
5 O'Donnell,Lucy L O'Leary Stone Ka 1h14'42" = s/t
6 Hilliard,Faith L TC Racing 1h14'42" = s/t

Back to top of Page

© Copyright


Copying prohibited, All contents © 2000 - 2021. All rights reserved. || Disclaimer || About || Contact Us || Home ||