Road Racing News and Pictures


 Women's Cycling
 Track Racing
Sundry Items
Latest Headlines
Ryan’s Bid For Glory to Begin in Trim
Monthly Recognition Awards - McCrystal, Dunne and Cassidy Big Winners in June
Aqua Blue Sport Cycling Ireland April Winners
Horgan Takes on Role as Cycling Anti-Doping Officer
Concannon, Hennebry and Smyth Big Winners in Aqua Blue Sport Monthly Awards

OTHER CYCLING : Sundry Items Last Updated: 2 Apr 2018 - 8:45:17 PM

Star Studded Celebration at the Cycling Ireland Awards Night 2017
By Heather Boyle, Cycling Ireland Communications Officer
26 Nov 2017,

Email this article

The cream of Irish cycling flocked to Santry last night for one of the biggest events on the Cycling Ireland calendar – the Cycling Ireland Awards Night. The annual event is a true celebration of the Irish cycling community, with awards being presented for cycling achievements across the spectrum of the sport.

Eddie Dunbar, winner of a Special Recognition award, during the Cycling Ireland Awards at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dublin. Photo by Stephen McMahon/Sportsfile
In 2017 Irish cyclists won over 20 medals at World and European level, with most present to reflect on what has been a tremendous year, and reveal their future plans.

With this year coming to a close, plans are already being made by riders like double world champions Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal, who indicated they are planning on defending their title in 2018. Eddie Dunbar and Ryan Mullen were both optimistic when they spoke about their respective moves to Aqua Blue Sport and Trek-Segafredo.

Killian Callaghan spoke about making the step to the elite ranks after his sensational U21 world title in the Enduro World Series. After a short break from training, Mark Downey indicated that he has his focus firmly on the track world championships in February.

Aside from interviews with some of Ireland’s most decorated riders, domestic cyclists were honoured, with Banbridge CC’s Aaron Wallace picking up the coveted National Volunteer of the Year Award, while Cuchulainn CC won club of the year.

The Membership Awards were voted for by Cycling Ireland members, with the nominees representing the depth of cycling at grassroots and domestic competition level throughout the 32 counties.

Five cycling stalwarts were inducted to the Hall of Fame, Oliver Kelly, Ben McKenna, Philip Cassidy, Gerry Beggs and Mark Rohan. Humbled with the honour, double Paralympic Champion Mark Rohan thanked the Irish Para-cycling team for helping achieve his success.

In a tight decision after an incredibly successful year for Irish cyclists, Dan Martin was announced as the recipient of the award for Best Irish International Cycling Performance for his epic race at the Tour de France. This was voted upon by the cycling media, with honourable mentions for many riders including Sam Bennett, Mark Downey, Lydia Boylan and Lydia Gurley and Eddie Dunbar.

Katie-George Dunlevy, left, and Eve McCrystal, winner's of a Special Recognition award during the Cycling Ireland Awards at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dublin. Photo by Stephen McMahon/Sportsfile

Online members of the cycling community who were unable to attend participated in an interactive online experience of the awards night through the hashtag #CIAwards.


Lydia Boylan and Lydia Gurley (European Silver Medallists)
Killian Callaghan (U21 Enduro World Series Champion)
Mark Downey (European U23 Bronze Medallist, Multiple World Cup Winner, World Ranked No.1)
Eddie Dunbar (Winner U23 Tour of Flanders)
Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal (Para-cycling World Champions)
Ryan Mullen (European Bronze Medallist)


Greg Callaghan (Third Enduro World Series)
Lara Gillespie (Silver European Youth Olympics)
JB Murphy (European Silver and World Bronze medallist)
Robin Seymour (World Masters Champion)
Greg Swinand (World Masters Champion)
Xeno Young (World and European Silver Medallist)


Dan Martin – Tour de France

A general view of the awards during the Cycling Ireland Awards at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dublin. Photo by Stephen McMahon/Sportsfile


Olly Kelly
Ben McKenna
Gerry Beggs
Philip Cassidy
Mark Rohan


Alice Sheratt


National Volunteer of the Year:
Aaron Wallace (Banbridge CC)

Provincial Volunteer of the Year:
Noel Mulroy (Connacht)
Ger Campbell (Leinster)
Larry O’Connor (Munster)
Orla Harkin (Ulster)

Competitive Event of the Year:
Errigal Youth Tour (Donegal)

Leisure Event of the Year:
Inishowen 100 (Donegal)

Club of the Year:
Cuchulainn CC (Dundalk)

Male Domestic Based Rider of the Year:
JB Murphy (Kilcullen CC)
Xeno Young (Powerhouse Sport)

Female Domestic Based Rider of the Year:
Eve McCrystal

Club Coach of the Year:
Dan Curtin (O’Leary Stone Kanturk Cycling Club)

Bike Shop of the Year:
The Bike Station (Dundalk)

Photos Stephen McMahon - Sportsfile
Cycling Ireland Website:
CI Facebook:
CI Twitter: @irecyclingfed #CIAwards

Back to top of Page

© Copyright


Copying prohibited, All contents © 2000 - 2018. All rights reserved. || Disclaimer || About || Contact Us || Home ||