Road Racing News and Pictures


Latest Headlines
Results of National Road Series 3rd Round in Donamon
Excellent Stage Win for Sam Bennett in Giro d'Italia
New Finish Line and Race Headquarters for Race Around Ireland
National Road Series – Results Round 2: 'Donal Crowley Mem'
Downey pipped on the line for bronze - finishing fourth in the Road Race

ROAD RACING Last Updated: 4 Apr 2018 - 3:13:57 PM

National Road Series – Round 3 Men’s Event – Shay Elliott 14th May
By Heather Boyle, Communications Officer
15 May 2017,

Email this article
OMAGH’S Darnell Moore secured a breakthrough victory with an impressive solo victory in Sunday’s Round 3 of the Cycling Ireland Men’s National Road Series in Wicklow.

The 20-year-old former Fermanagh footballer had enjoyed a series of podium places in the build up to the Shay Elliott Memorial Race, and finished fourth in the 2016 edition after taking second in the lower tier SHA3 on the same card previously.

Going into 2017’s longer, tougher, 164km Bray Wheelers Classic, he described himself as “an alright climber” and that he proved and more when surging clear from the breakaway at the top of the day’s main climb, the Shay Elliott and Glenmalure.

Getting a gap, he increased his lead on the descent and rode alone at the front of the race for several kilometres, before being caught by six key riders, including fellow Omagh man Angus Fyffe.

With 16km to race, National Road Series second Mark Dowling, and fourth Matteo Cigala, were among the group of chasers to join the leaders, but the harmony would not last long as the winning move was to follow within minutes.

He said: “There was a bit of messing about for four or five miles after I got caught and another group joined us, then Conn McDunphy just rode straight through us.

“Angus Fyffe knocked up the road after him, and I’d be friendly with Angus, so I thought I may as well try to work with him.

“I got across with him, then McDunphy tried to attack us twice, but everybody stayed together, then, with about 1km to go, I just had the legs and gave it a dig.”

Moore hit the line four seconds clear of Fyffe at the summit, with Dowling nicking third from the enterprising McDunphy, and the Aqua Blue Academy pair, Sean Lacey and Matteo Cigala, back in fifth and sixth.

He added “Conn and Angus have been winning races most of the year. That was my first one. I have had plenty of thirds and seconds, but hopefully that’s the breakthrough one.”

The victory promotes Moore to fifth position in the National Road Series standings, leader Darragh O’Mahony dropping back to third, behind new leader Dowling and new second Cigala.

Fyffe moves up to fourth for his efforts, with McGlinchey taking sixth, two points ahead of Mark O’Callaghan, Lacey, and McDunphy.

For Moore and much of the field, the An Post Ras is next. Moore, who will be riding the race for the second time, took the County Rider’s Jersey into Dungarvan on Stage 8 last year and will be riding for Down Bikehouse with David Watson, James Ambrose, Adam Armstrong and Lewis Ferguson.
The action gets underway on Sunday, May 21, with Round 4 of the National Road Series hosted by Tuam Cycling Club at the Brian McNamara GP in Galway on Sunday, June 11.


PRESS RELEASE: 11th May 2017

A SUMMIT finish, a town centre start, and a history spanning six decades will make Round 3 of the Cycling Ireland Men’s National Road Series a race for this ages in Wicklow this Sunday.

The 60th Shay Elliott Memorial Race, sponsored by New Ireland Assurance and run by Bray Wheelers CC, commemorates the extraordinary Dublin cyclist who became the first Irish man to pull on the Tour de France’s yellow, leader’s jersey back in 1963.

Staged on the hilly County Wicklow roads he trained on, the 152km epic will begin on Bray main street, hitting the day’s toughest climb, Glenmalure, after 116km. The climb up from Glenmalure to Shay Elliott’s remembrance stone is the deciding test, with the summit finish coming some 30km later on Djouce.

Last year it was won by Tyrone man Marc Potts, but the Neon Velo rider will this year be racing in England at the Lincoln Grand Prix, leaving the door open for a National Road Series rider to score.

U23 star Darragh O’Mahony (O’Leary Stone Kanturk) leads the NRS table by three points, after winning Round 1 in Carlow and finishing in the points at the Nenagh Classic.

Chasing him is Nenagh Classic winner Mark Dowling, racing for Strata 3 VeloRevolution this year, hotly-tipped An Post Ras hope Matteo Cigala and fellow U23 Mark O’Callaghan - both riding for the Aqua Blue Academy. Just nine points separate the top four in the table, and Sunday’s winner will grab 40.

Sign on opens at 8.30am on Sunday in the Bray Wheelers Clubhouse, where a Shay Elliott memorabilia display will be on show. The race will roll-out at 11am to head down Bray’s main street and out into the hills for 152km.

Spectators heading to the main climb at Glenmalure are advised to arrive before 12.25pm to ensure a good viewing spot. The supporting race is set to pass first, containing Ireland’s leading junior riders, with the National Road Series event expecting to follow after 1.30pm.
Arrival at the finish on Djouce is estimated at 2.48pm.

Full 60th Shay Elliott Memorial Race route:


Last 10 Shay Elliott Memorial Race winners*

2016 Marc Potts Neon Velo Tyrone
2015 Martin Irvine Madison Genesis Down
2014 Damian Shaw Aqua Blue Westmeath
2013 Conor Murphy Eurocycles Monaghan
2012 Philip Lavery NODE4 Giordana Dublin
2011 Timmy Barry The Edge CC Cork
2010 Dan Craven Rapha Condor (Namibia)
2009 Matt Cronshaw Rapha Condor (England)
2008 David O’Loughlin Pezula Racing Mayo
2007 Malcolm Elliott Team Pinarello (England)

*For all the Shay Elliott Memorial Race winners up to its inauguration in 1958 see:

Back to top of Page

© Copyright


Copying prohibited, All contents © 2000 - 2018. All rights reserved. || Disclaimer || About || Contact Us || Home ||