Road Racing News and Pictures

 Welcome to our Voluntary, Ad-free, Tracking free website  | HOME | FIXTURES | PHOTOS | VIDEOS | OLD ARCHIVES | |

 Picture Archive
 Stephen McMahon
 Darren Crawford
 Kieran Clancy
 Other Photographers
Peter Purfield
Latest Headlines
More Pictures from the Past (1970's / 1980's) some Posted now
1975/1983 Irish Cycling Racing - Archive No.9
1975/1983 Irish Cycling Racing - Archive No.8
1975/1983 Irish Cycling Racing - Archive No.7
1975/1983 Irish Cycling Racing - Archive No.6

PICTURE GALLERY : Peter Purfield Last Updated: 2 Apr 2018 - 8:45:17 PM

By Peter Purfield
10 Jun 2012,

Email this article
The Christy McManus started an hour late due to the crash in the earlier A4 race

They will do 6 laps of a 12kms undulating circuit just outside Roundwood in Co. Wicklow

The A3 started first with the A2 riders starting 2' 30" later

The leading A3 group on lap 2

The A2 group has already split and the first of them are still 2'30" behind

The rest of the A2's are 3 minutes back

Starting lap 3 - one rider goes clear

The A3 group

The first of the A2's - the time to the leaders is unchanged

The lone leader later on lap 3

The pressure is on

The chasing A2's have pulled back about 10 seconds

More riders crossing the gap

The leading A3 group on lap 4

The two groups of A2 riders look like they will come back together

The leaders on lap 5

The front of the A2 group is still 2' 20" back

The leading group with 10kms to go

The front of the A2 group - they are still not gaining time

50m to go to the finish

The winner is Gael Houreau (Velo Club, ECKwersHeim, France) from Mark Gunning (Waterford CC)

The first of the A2 group to finish are John Mason (DID Dunboyne CC) who pips Art McManus (South Dublin CC)

Pictures from the event taken by Peter Purfield

1 Gael Houreau (Velo Club, ECKwersHeim, France)
2 Mark Gunning (Waterford CC)
3 Graham Thomas (Stagg Cycles Lucan CC)
4 John Doris (Epic MTB)
5 Mike Millar (Phoenix CC - McConvey Cycles)
6 Cian Dwyer (Dungarvan CC)

1st Fastest A2: John Mason (DID Dunboyne CC)
2nd Fastest A2: Art McManus (South Dublin CC)
3rd Fastest A2: Mark Nugent (Waterford CC
1st unplaced Veteran: Rob Magee (Bray Wheelers CC)
1st unplaced Junior: Danny Bruton (DID Dunboyne CC)
2nd unplaced Junior: Craig Arrigan (Dundrum TC Orwell Wheelers CC
1st unplaced Bray Wheeler: Sean O'Tuathaill

Back to top of Page

© Copyright


Copying prohibited, All contents © 2000 - 2023. All rights reserved. || Disclaimer || About || Contact Us || Home ||