Road Racing News and Pictures


 Women's Cycling
 Track Racing
 Sundry Items
Latest Headlines
Dunlevy and McCrystal Win the Double Double – Defending Second World Title at 2018 Para-cycling Road World Championships
Dunlevy and McCrystal Defend World Time Trial Title at Para-cycling Road World Championships
Cycling Ireland Announces Kukri Sports Partnership For Elite Olympic and Paralympic Squads
Para-cycling Road World Championships - Italy 2-5 August
Paralympic and World Champion Steps Away from International Competition

OTHER CYCLING : Paracycling Last Updated: 6 May 2018 - 8:56:34 PM

Time Trial Silver for Dunlevy and McCrystal in Para-cycling Road World Cup
By Heather Boyle, CI Communications Officer
4 May 2018,

Email this article

Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal have won silver in the 27km Time Trial in the UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup in Ostend, Belgium this evening. The duo are the reigning Paralympic and World Champions in this event, and add this silver to the bronze Individual Pursuit medal they won in the Para-cycling Track World Championships earlier this year.

Gold went to GB’s Lora Fachie and Corrine Hall in a time of 36:03:69, with Poland’s Iwona Podkoscielna and Aleksandra Teclaw winning bronze in 41:15:41. Dunlevy and McCrystal were 33 seconds off gold with 39:36:85.

In the Men’s Tandem Peter Ryan and Séan Hahessy finished in sixth place with a time of 49:03:34, two minutes adrift of winners Marcin Polak and Michal Ladosz from Poland. The tandem of Damien Vereker and Dermot Radford were eighth with a time of 50:12:14.

Earlier today Ronan Grimes was also eighth in the in the MC4 Time Trial with a time of 40:15:80, just over two minutes behind Australia’s Kyle Bridgewood.

This morning Chris Burns was 15th in the MC2 Time Trial, and in yesterday’s handcycling races Declan Slevin finished 23rd in the MH3 Time Trial, Seamus Wall was 21st in the MH4 Time Trial. The Road Races take place tomorrow and Sunday. This is the first World Cup of 2018, and competition takes place from Thursday 3rd May - Sunday 6th May 2018.


WB Tandem 27km

GOLD: Lora Fachie & Corrine Hall – 39:03:69
SILVER: Katie-George Dunlevy & Eve McCrystal – 39:36.85
BRONZE: Iwona Podkoscielna & Aleksandra Teclaw – 41:15:41

MB Tandem 36km

6th Peter Ryan & Séan Hahessy – 49:03:34
8th Damien Vereker & Dermot Radford – 50:12:14

MC4 27km

8th Ronan Grimes – 40:15:80

MC2 27km

15th Chris Burns – 45:19:30

MH4 27km

21st Seamus Wall – 33:52:26

MH3 27km

23rd Declan Slevin – 32:27:06


Saturday 5th May Road Races

10:30 Men’s MH3 64km Declan Slevin
15:45 Men’s MH4 64km Seamus Wall

Sunday 6th May Road Races

08:00 Men’s C4-5 80km Ronan Grimes
08:02 Men’s C1-3 64km Chris Burns
14:00 Men’s B Tandem 104km Peter Ryan & Séan Hahessy, Damien Vereker & Dermot Radford
14:02 Women’s B Tandem 80km Katie-George Dunlevy & Eve McCrystal


Cycling Ireland Website:

Paralympics Website:

Event Website:


About Classification in Paralympic Sport:

Classification is a unique and integral part of Paralympic sport. It provides the structure to separate athletes with similar levels of impairments into groups, or classes as they are commonly known, so they can compete in fair and equal competitions against one another, and ensure that winning is determined by skill, fitness, power, endurance, tactical ability and mental focus. This same principle exists in non-Paralympic sports where athletes are classified according to age, gender or weight divisions to allow for as fair competition as possible.

In para-cycling there are fourteen classifications based on functional disability type. B refers to the tandems, where the stoker is blind or visually impaired, and the pilot is sighted. H represents the handcycling events, and C refers to cyclists on regular, but adapted, solo bikes, who may have cerebral palsy, limb impairments and amputations. In these events the categories have numbers denoting the level of impairment, the lower numbers the more severe the impairments and the higher less so.

For more information on Para-cycling:

[ Visit Website ]

Back to top of Page

© Copyright


Copying prohibited, All contents © 2000 - 2018. All rights reserved. || Disclaimer || About || Contact Us || Home ||