Road Racing News and Pictures

 Welcome to our Voluntary, Ad-free, Tracking free website  | HOME | FIXTURES | PHOTOS | VIDEOS | OLD ARCHIVES | |

 Peter Purfield
 Stephen McMahon
 Kieran Clancy
 Other Photographers
Darren Crawford
Latest Headlines
NEWRY 3 DAY - Stages 4 Pictures
NEWRY 3 DAY - Stages 3 Pictures
NEWRY YOUTH CRITERIUM - Report and Pictures
AN POST RAS - Gap of Mamore Pictures
Celtic Chrono UCI Elite Women's Time Trial - Pictures

PICTURE GALLERY : Darren Crawford Last Updated: 2 Apr 2018 - 8:45:17 PM

NEWRY YOUTH CRITERIUM - Report and Pictures
By Darren Crawford
21 Jun 2012,

Email this article
Newry Wheelers held a town centre crit for the first time in many years and it was a tremendous success. With the co-operation of the council and the PSNI the circuit of Hill Street and Mary Street was closed for 2 hours of most enjoyable action packed racing.

Racing was all ages from starter level right up to seniors and with the roads closed this was fantastic racing. Over the last few years Halfords have been sponsoring a series of televised town centre races all over the UK which has become very successful and is a great spectator sport.

This circuit was only taking a little over one minute per lap so the action was non stop and most enjoyable. Mark McKinley kept the spectators amused with his race commentary and showed his talents extend further than bike racing.

Special word of thanks to all the marshalls and helpers who made this event happen.

The event was sponsored by Maurice McCavitt owner of the Currency Exchange, a man who in his prime loved this style of racing.

Scroll down for pictures from the event courtesy of Darren Crawford after the results on this page.

1. Odhran Doogan, Errigal CC
2. Ruari Grimes, Clann Eireann
3. Niamh McKivergan, Banbridge
4. Ciaran McNulty, Newry Wheelers

P.J Doogan was again the star performer lapping all but one rider with a great show of handling skills and fitness.

1. P.J Doogan, Errigal CC
2. Ciara Doogan, Errigal CC
3. Shauna McFadden, Errigal CC
4. James Mulholland, Clann Eireann
5. Fergal McConvey, Newry Wheelers
6. Jordan Chambers, Newry Wheelers

Jake Gray showed his class attacking after 3 laps with Ciaran McFadden and opening a good gap on the chasing Newry duo of Conor McLoughlin and Dean Chambers. With 2 laps to go young Gray raced clear and came home an easy winner.

1. Jake Gray, East Tyrone CC
2. Ciaran McFadden, Errigal CC
3. Will Hamilton, North Down
4. Dean Chambers, Newry Wheelers
5. Conor McLoughlin, Newry Wheelers.

The under 16 was a close race with several of the best riders in Ireland competing in this event. The 15 laps proved to be a tester with high speed tight cornering and attacks on the cobbles off the Mall soon splitting the race. Six riders eventually broke clear and despite many attacks it came down to a bunch sprint.

James Mulligan was off the front for most of the second last lap but the sprinters were not letting anyone away. The bookies favourite Declan Mulholland from Lurgan didn't disappoint with a superb well timed sprint to just edge out Aaron Swan and Jake Gray.

1. Declan Mulholland, Clann Eireann
2. Aaron Swan, TSC
3. Jake Gray, East Tyrone CC
4. Matthew Teggart, Banbridge
5. Cathal Clarke, Newry Wheelers
6. James Mulligan, Newry Wheelers

The club race was 20 laps which to many sounded easy but after 10 laps many riders were busted, just not accustomed to constantly sprinting out of corners and battling to hold the wheel. With many of the clubs racing men opting to marshall on the night it was a chance for possibly some of the newcomers to cause a shock. Kenny Bagnall looked strong, Noel Goodman from the leisure club was among the action for most of the race, but with 4 laps to go the break went and 10 riders were clear.

Jim McConnon was enjoying the event lining the riders out with John Harty doing max efforts to keep in contact. At the bell Conor Quinn went clear with Cathal Clarke and the duo stayed clear with Cathal narrowly taking the win from the experienced Quinn. Big Liam Hutchinson won the bunch sprint.

1. Cathal Clarke
2. Conor Quinn
3. Liam Hutchinson
4. Jim McConnon
5. Kenny Bagnall
6. Henry O'Neill
7. John Harty
8. Sean McAvoy

Pictures from the event courtesy of Darren Crawford

Back to top of Page

© Copyright


Copying prohibited, All contents © 2000 - 2023. All rights reserved. || Disclaimer || About || Contact Us || Home ||